When was the last time Detroit Red Wings won the Stanley Cup?

Detroit Red Wings is a Detroit-based ice hockey professional team. The Red Wings are competing in the National Hockey League (NHL) as a member of the Atlantic Division at the Eastern Conference and is one of the Six Original League teams. Founded in 1926, the group became known as Visit here the Detroit Cougars until 1930. During the 1930-31 and 1931-32 seasons, the team was renamed the Detroit Falcons, before changing its name to the Red Wings in 1932.

Since 1983-84, the Red Wings have finished the first season six and have won the Stanley Cup four times (1997, 1998, 2002, and 2008).

The Red Wings opened the 2006-07 season with Nicklas Lidstrom as the new captain. The team canceled the Yzerman jersey number 19 on January 2, 2007. The Red Wings finished first in the Western Conference and were tied for the first time in the NHL and Buffalo Sabers, but the Sabers were awarded the Presidential Medal for their achievements. Detroit advanced to the third round of the 2007 playoffs after defeating both Calgary and San Jose Sharks in six games, returning to win three times in a row after the Sharks led 2-1 in the series. The Red Wings will be defeated by former Stanley Cup champion Anaheim Ducks in the Western Conference final in six games.

Starting the 2007-08 campaign, Zetterberg recorded at least one point in each of Detroit’s 17 first games, setting a team record. The Wings sailed to the playoffs, where the Detroit red wings faced the Nashville Predators. After goalkeeper Dominik Hasek played poorly in Games 3 and 4 of the series, both losses, head coach Mike Babcock replaced Chris Osgood. Osgood has never left the net in the remaining half of the playoffs, as the Red Wings are back in the series on their way to winning their 11th Stanley Cup. The final victory came in Game 6 on June 4, 2008, against the Pittsburgh Penguins, 3–2. This was Red Wings’ fourth Stanley Cup game in 11 years. Zetterberg scored the winning goal in the semi-finals and was also named the winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most important player in the playoffs. It was the first time that the captain’s team with a non-North American player won the Stanley Cup.

On July 2, 2008, the Red Wings announced the signing of Marian Hossa. On January 1, 2009, the Red Wings played the Chicago Blackhawks in the second future gentle NHL Winter Classic match at Chicago’s Wrigley Field, defeating them 6-4. Although they finished second in the San Jose Sharks conference, the Wings became the first team in NHL history to score 100 points in nine consecutive seasons. In the playoffs, the Red Wings swept the Columbus Blue Jackets, then defeated the Anaheim Ducks with eight seeds in a series of seven hard-fought games. They took the highly developed Chicago Blackhawks to the conference finals, winning in five games. The Red Wings will face the Pittsburgh Penguins in the finals for the second year in a row, but this series will have a different effect as the Penguins defeat the Red Wings in seven games. The Red Wings became only the second NHL team to lose the Stanley Cup at home in Game 7.

Related Articles

Back to top button